Young, William | Recueil de pièces de basse de viole (c1660)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition restored.

  • Instrumentation: solo viola da gamba (bass viol)
  • Edition | Source: Facsimile (2019) | Krakow Ms, c1660.
  • Notation | Clefs: F4, C3
  • Paper | Binding: ivory paper, ivory card stock cover & metallic binding
  • Pages | Format: 1 volume, 44 pages - 27.9 x 21.6 cm
  • Weight: 200 g

29 pieces for solo bass viol composed by William Young. [Preludes, courantes, sarabandes, allemandes]

William Young (died 23 April 1662) was an English viol player and composer of the Baroque era, who worked at the court of Ferdinand Charles, Archduke of Austria in Innsbruck. By 1652 he was a chamber musician at the Innsbruck court, where "the Englishman", as he was called, was a highly regarded viol player and composer. The design of his English-made viol influenced that of some of the viols built by Jakob Stainer, the Austrian luthier. He is not to be confused with William Young (died 1671), another musician, who played violin and flute at the court of Charles II of England from 1661.
Add to cart