Collection | Cambridge Consorts | Pavans & Galliards in 5 parts (c1600-1610)

  • Description
  • Instrumentation: 5 viola da gamba or 5 recorders
  • Edition: Corda Music Pub. - Urtext (1991) - Score & parts
  • State: New

Edited and reconstructed by Dr Ian Payne from Brit. Lib. Add MSS 30826-8. This is a substantial and important collection of works by Amner, Gibbons, Tomkins, Weelkes, Wilkinson, Mason, Harding, Peterson, Dethick, Strogers, Jackson, Kirbye, Somner and anon. Many of the composers had connections with Cambridge or at least with East Anglia, and as Dr Payne shows in his erudite introduction, there seems to be a definite connection wth Trinity College for nearly half the pieces. Though the original source is lacking two part-books, the music has been completed with reference to other surviving versions or with skillful reconstruction by the editor. The music continues the tradition established by Dowland's Lachrimae for writing complex counterpoint and harmony within the framework of a dance movement. Individual part-books also sold separately (altermative clefs for recorders).

Add to cart