La Barre, Michel de | Pièces à deux flûtes traversières sans basse | Livre 12 | Suites XX & XXI (1725)

  • Description
  • More

Instrumentation: 2 flutes

Edition | Source: Facsimile (2018) | Paris, Boivin, 1725

Language of text: French

Notation | Clefs: G1

Paper | Binding: ivory paper, ivory card stock cover & golden metallic binding

Pages | Format: 1 volume, 17 pages [full score] - 27.9 x 21.6 cm

Weight: 150 g


  1. Allemande - Legerement 
  2. Forlana 
  3. Passacaille - Gravement
  4. Le Papillon - Menuet - Legerement
  5. Le Moucheron - Passepied - Viste
  6. Bourée - Gay - Double de la Bourée 
  7. Gavotte - Gayement 
  8. Sicilienne - Lentement et gracieusement
  9. Sarabande - Lentement et tendrement
  10. Chaconne - Gay
  11. "Each of the six concerts gathers together many short pieces, richly ornamented and written in a principal key and its parallel major or minor. The separate pieces are mostly in dance-form, and often bear evocative titles, following the French taste for descriptive music... Montéclair's masterly interchange of the voices, particularly in the slow movements, invites the players to demonstrate great affinity in their performance, arousing a desire for osmosis, creating a surge of confidence, and of that very baroque emotion, tenderness. He invites the performers to go beyond themselves, to lose themselves in joining with the other player, to dissolve into an intangible world, beyond time and space, only to come back to Earth in the next instant through a wellknown melody, or a firmly marked bass, immediately evoking a desire to dance." (Germain St Pierre, Label Ramée, RAM1102)

    *Only active members are eligible to choose the "Member" options, when ordering facsimiles.
Add to cart
You may also like...