Montéclair, Michel Pignolet de | Concerts à deux flûtes traversières sans basses | Concert III (c1720)

  • Description
  • More
Original edition restored by Atelier Philidor.

Ces concerts dont les pièces sont les unes dans le goût François et les autres dans le goût Italien, ne conviènent pas moins aux Violons, Violes, et autres Instrumens, qu'aux Fûtes Traversières.

  • Instrumentation: 2 German flutes or 2 violins or 2 viols
  • Edition: Facsimile (2017) | Paris, L'Auteur, c1720 (B&W)
  • 1 volume, 14 pages
  • Notation | Clefs: G1


  1. Rondeau.
  2. Air.
  3. Première Musette – 2ème Muzette.
  4. Première Sarabande – Deuxième Sarabande.
  5. Prélude.
  6. Allemande.
  7. Gigue en Rondeau.
  8. Sarabande.
  9. Fugue.

"Each of the six concerts gathers together many short pieces, richly ornamented and written in a principal key and its parallel major or minor. The separate pieces are mostly in dance-form, and often bear evocative titles, following the French taste for descriptive music... Montéclair's masterly interchange of the voices, particularly in the slow movements, invites the players to demonstrate great affinity in their performance, arousing a desire for osmosis, creating a surge of confidence, and of that very baroque emotion, tenderness. He invites the performers to go beyond themselves, to lose themselves in joining with the other player, to dissolve into an intangible world, beyond time and space, only to come back to Earth in the next instant through a wellknown melody, or a firmly marked bass, immediately evoking a desire to dance." (Germain St Pierre, Label Ramée, RAM1102)

Add to cart
Related Products