Valderrabano, Enriquez de | Libro de musica para dos vihuelas (1547)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition restored by Atelier Philidor.

  • Libro IV from the "Libro de Musica de Vihuela intitulado Silva de Sirenas", in which are found compositions by famous composers arranged for two vihuelas in four tunings: unison, thirds, fourths and fifths.
  • Instrumentation: 2 vihuelas
  • Edition: Facsimile (2012, second restoration 2018) | Francisco Fernandez de Cordoba, Valladolid, 1547
  • Notation | Clefs: Italian tablature
  • Text in Spanish
  • Paper | Binding: ivory paper, ivory card stock cover & coil binding
  • Pages | Format: 1 volume, 52 pages, 21.6 x 27.9 cm | B&W
Download sample pages     

Enríquez de Valderrábano (c. 1500 - after 1557) was a Spanish vihuelist and composer. There is little biographical data on this composer of early music, but there is some from the prologue to his book of music, Libro de música de vihuela intitulado Silva de Sirenas, published in Valladolid, Spain in 1547.

Valderrábano's book of music has seven parts containing fugas, contrapuntos, sonetos, bajas, vacas, discantes, pavanas, proverbios, canciones, romances, and villancicos - ordered by level of difficulty. It includes pieces for two vihuelas, for vihuela and another instrument, and for vihuela and voice.

Valderrábano's book is considered an important source of knowledge on the vihuela music of the Spanish Renaissance of the sixteenth century and European instrumental music in general, as it includes transcriptions of pieces by other significant composers of the time, including Cristobal de Morales, Josquin des Prez, Nicolas Gombert, Philippe Verdelot, Jorge Báez de Sepúlveda, Adrian Willaert, Vincenzo Ruffo, Diego Ortiz, Juan Vásquez and Jean Mouton.

Add to cart
Related Products