Krieger, Johann Philipp | XII Suonate à doi, violino e viola da gamba (1693)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition being restored currently.

  • Instrumentation: violin, viola da gamba (bass), harpsichord
  • Edition | Source: Facsimile (2024) | Noribergae, Michaelis Endteri, 1693
  • Notation | Clefs: G1, F4, C3, C4, C1, figured bass
  • Pages | Format: 3 part-books [separate parts for each instrument] 144 pages - 21.6 x 35.6 cm
  • A viola da gamba part in modern clefs (F4, C3) has been reconstructed and added to the original edition.

Restoration's progress: 41/110 pages

Johann Philipp Krieger (1649-1725) was a German composer, organist and keyboard player, elder brother of Johann Krieger. He was one of the outstanding German composers of his time, especially of church cantatas, of which he wrote over 2000 (nearly all lost); under his direction the cultivation of music at the small court at Weissenfels rose to the highest level of German court music.

Krieger provided the court at Weissenfels with secular as well as sacred music. Two published sets of trio sonatas – 12 for two violins and continuo (1688) and 12 for violin, bass viol and continuo (1693) – are, like Corelli’s but unlike Biber’s and Rosenmüller’s, for only three instruments instead of four. (Source: Harold E. Samuel, Grove Music Online)


  • Sonata I à 2. Largo, Allegro, Adagio, Presto, Grave, Allegro, Poco adagio.
  • Sonata II à 2. Andante, Largo, Presto, Largo, Aria d'inventione Parte 1-10.
  • Sonata IV à 2. Arioso, Largo, Presto, Adagio, Allegro.
  • Sonata V à 2. Allegro, Adagio, Allegro, Adagio, Allegro, Presto, Courante.
Related Products