Clérambault, Louis Nicolas | Sonate en trio 'La Félicité' (c1700)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition restored & augmented by Atelier Philidor.

  • Instrumentation: 2 high instruments (violin or 2 flute), basso continuo (viola da gamba & harpsichord) 
  • Edition | Source: Facsimile (2021) | Manuscript : Pièces instrumentales (1699-1724)
  • Notation | Clefs: G1, F4, figured bass
  • Paper | Binding: ivory paper, ivory card stock cover & coil binding
  • Pages | Format: Full score (original edition) & part-books reconstructed by Atelier Philidor (one part for the 2 dessus & one bass part) 21.6 x 27,9 cm

Sonata in G major [C52], La Félicité, for 2 dessus & continuo par Louis-Nicolas Clérambault (1676-1749)

  • Lentement - Allegro - Lent
  • Allegro
  • [Piano]
  • [Allegro]
Clérambault came from a musical family (his father and two of his sons were also musicians). While very young, he learned to play the violin and harpsichord and he studied the organ with André Raison. Clérambault also studied composition and voice with Jean-Baptiste Moreau. Clérambault became the organist at the church of the Grands-Augustins and entered the service of Madame de Maintenon. After the death of Louis XIV and Guillaume-Gabriel Nivers, he succeeded the latter at the organ of the church of Saint-Sulpice and the royal house of Saint-Cyr, an institution for young girls from the poor nobility. He was responsible there for music, the organ, directing chants and choir, etc. It was in this post that he developed the genre of the "French cantata" of which he was the uncontested master.
Add to cart