Graun, Johann Gottlieb | Concerto con Violino, Violini, Viola e Basso (c1740)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition restored & augmented by Atelier Philidor.

  • Violin Concerto in d | GraunWV C:XIII:75
  • Instrumentation: violin solo, 2 violins, viola & basso continuo
  • Edition | Source: Facsimile (2016) | Manuscript, 1736-1750 | Copyists: Johann Gottlieb Morgenstern & Johann Georg Pisendel
  • Score & Set of parts [reconstructed & added by Atelier Philidor] | 27 & 66 pages | B&W

Johann Gottlieb Graun (1703-1771) was a German composer and violinist, born in Wahrenbrück. (His brother Carl Heinrich was a singer and also a composer, and indeed is the better known of the two.)

Johann Gottlieb studied with J.G. Pisendel in Dresden and Giuseppe Tartini in Padua. Appointed Konzertmeister in Merseburg in 1726, he taught the violin to J.S. Bach's son Wilhelm Friedemann. He joined the court of the Prussian crown prince (the future Frederick the Great) in 1732 and was made Konzertmeister of the Berlin Opera in 1740.

Graun's compositions were highly respected, and continued to be performed after his death: "The concert-master, John Gottlib Graun, brother to the opera-composer, his admirers say, 'was one of the greatest performers on the violin of his time, and most assuredly, a composer of the first rank" wrote Charles Burney. He was primarily known for his instrumental works, though he also wrote vocal music and operas. He wrote a large number of violin concertos, trio sonatas, and solo sonatas for violin with cembalo, as well as two string quartets - among the earliest attempts in this genre. He also wrote many concertos for viola da gamba, which were very virtuosic, and were played by Ludwig Christian Hesse, considered the leading gambist of the time.

Add to cart
Related Products