Valderrabano, Enriquez de | Libro de musica de vihuela Intitulado Silva de Sirenas (1547)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition restored by Atelier Philidor.

  • Instrumentation: 1 & 2 vihuelas
  • Edition: Facsimile (2012, second restoration 2018) | Francisco Fernandez de Cordoba, Valladolid, 1547
  • Notation | Clefs: Italian tablature
  • Text in Spanish
  • Paper | Binding: ivory paper, ivory card stock cover & coil binding
  • Pages | Format: 5 volumes [Libro I & II, Libro III, Libro IV, Libro V, Libro VI & VII], 257 pages, 27.9 x 21.6 cm | B&W
  • In order to facilitate the vihuelist's work, Atelier Philidor has chosen to publish this work in separate books, corresponding to the the seven books of the original edition.
Download sample pages     
  • Enríquez de Valderrábano (c. 1500 - after 1557) was a Spanish vihuelist and composer. There is little biographical data on this composer of early music, but there is some from the prologue to his book of music, Libro de música de vihuela intitulado Silva de Sirenas, published in Valladolid, Spain in 1547.
  • Valderrábano's book of music has seven parts containing fugas, contrapuntos, sonetos, bajas, vacas, discantes, pavanas, proverbios, canciones, romances, and villancicos - ordered by level of difficulty. It includes pieces for two vihuelas, for vihuela and another instrument, and for vihuela and voice.
  • Valderrábano's book is considered an important source of knowledge on the vihuela music of the Spanish Renaissance of the sixteenth century and European instrumental music in general, as it includes transcriptions of pieces by other significant composers of the time, including Cristobal de Morales, Josquin des Prez, Nicolas Gombert, Philippe Verdelot, Jorge Báez de Sepúlveda, Adrian Willaert, Vincenzo Ruffo, Diego Ortiz, Juan Vásquez and Jean Mouton.

    • Libro I : Contrapuntal works
    • Libro II : In which there are motets by famous composers and stories from the sacred scriptures set to old romances and villancicos, and other works.
    • Libro III : In which there are works, songs, and villancicos for singing in falsete, with notation for the vocal part.
    • Libro IV : In which are found compositions by famous composers arranged for two vihuelas in four tunings: unison, thirds, fourths and fifths.
    • Libro V : Which deals with Fantasias.
    • Libro VI : Which deals with part of masses, duos, songs, and sonetos.
    • Libro VII : Which deals with pavans and other diferencias.
    Add to cart