Corelli, Arcangelo | Sonate à viola da gamba con il basso continuo | Op. V (c1735)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition restored by Atelier Philidor.

  • Instrumentation: viola da gamba (bass), basso continuo
  • Edition | Source: Facsimile (2016) | Manuscrit (ca. 1735) | Transcript. Pietro Chaboud [?]
  • 1 volume, 91 pages, format 29.7 x 21 cm
  • Violin sonatas (Op. 5) arranged by Pietro Chaboud [?]
  • Notation | Clefs: F4, C3, G2, figured bass
Download sample pages     
In the eighteenth century, the sonata model established by the published works of Arcangelo Corelli conquered all of musical Europe. Throughout the century, transcriptions of his music were published for every instrument, and the viola da gamba was no exception. The most interesting collection is that held at the Bibliothèque Nationale de France in Paris (Ms. Rés. Vm7 6308), which presents the twelve sonatas of Corelli’s op.5 arranged for viola da gamba.


    Prima Parte
    • Sonata Prima [original in D] - Grave, Allegro, Allegro, Adagio, Allegro.
    • Sonata II [in B flat] - Adagio, Allegro, [Vivace], Adagio, Allegro.
    • Sonata III [in C] - Adagio, Allegro, Adagio, Allegro, Allegro.
    • Sonata IV [in F] - Adagio, Allegro, Vivace, Adagio, Allegro.
    • Sonata V [original in g] - Adagio, Vivace, Adagio, Vivace.
    • Sonata VI [original in A] - Grave, Allegro, Adagio, Allegro, Adagio, Allegro.
    Seconda Parte - Sonate da Cammera
    • Sonata VII [in d] - Preludio Vivace, Corrente Allegro, Sarabanda Largo, Giga Allegro.
    • Sonata VIII [in e] - Preludio Largo, Allemanda Allegro, Sarabanda Largo, Giga Allegro.
    • Sonata IX [in A] - Preludio Largo, Giga Allegro, Adagio, Tempo di Gavotta Allegro.
    • Sonata X [in F] - Preludio Adagio, Allemanda Allegro, Sarabanda Largo, Gavotta Allegro.
    • Sonata XI [original in E] - Preludio Adagio, Allegro, Adagio, Vivace.
    • Sonata XII [in d] 'Follia' - Adagio, Allegro, Adagio, Vivace, Allegro, Andante, Allegro, Adagio, Allegro.
Add to cart
Related Products