Adson, John | Courtly Masquing Ayres composed to 5. and 6. parts (1621)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition restored by Atelier Philidor.

  • Full Title: Courtly Masquing Ayres composed to 5. and 6 Parts, for violins, consorts, and cornets.
  • Instrumentation: 5 & 6 instruments (violins, recorders, cornetts, viola da gamba, sackbuts)
  • Edition | Source: Facsimile (2015, 2018 2nd restoration) | John Browne, London, 1621
  • Set of 6 parts [Cantus, Medius, Altus, Tenor, Bassus, Sextus] in 3 part-books | 82 pages | B&W
  • Notation | Clefs: G1, C2, C3, C4, F4

A collection of 31 English dances for instrumental 5- & 6-part consorts.

English composer, actor and instrumentalist, brother-in-law of Richard Balls, John Adson (1585-1640)  is known to have been in the service of the Duke of Lorraine in 1604-8, London wait from 1614 through the 1620s. From 1625, he held various posts as recorder and cornett player and as music teacher at the English court. Musician in Ordinary for flutes and cornet successor to Henry Lanier 1633-1640. Musician in The Triumph of Peace (Masque) in 1634. His Courtly Masquing Ayres for 'violins, consorts and cornetts' were published in 1621.

Add to cart
Related Products