Blavet, Michel | Six Sonates pour deux flûtes sans basse | Oeuvre I (1728 & 1741)

  • Description
  • More

Original editions restored by Atelier Philidor.

  • Six Sonatas for two transverse flutes without a bass
  • The 1728 edition is written in G1 clef; the 1741 edition is "newly engraved" in G2 clef.
  • Instrumentation: 2 transverse flutes
  • Edition| Source: Facsimile (second edition, 2018) | L'Auteur, Paris, 1728 & 1741
  • Notation | Clefs: G1, G2
  • Text in French
  • 2 books, 68 pages | B&W

Michel Blavet (1700-1768) was a French composer and flute virtuoso. Although Blavet taught himself to play almost every instrument, he specialized in the bassoon and the flute which he held to the left, the opposite of how most flutists hold theirs today. Quantz wrote of Blavet: "His amiable disposition and engaging manner gives rise to a lasting friendship between us and I am much indebted to him for his numerous acts of kindness."

Born in Besançon as the son of wood turner Jean-Baptiste Blavet, a profession which he followed for some time, he accidentally became the possessor of a flute and soon became the finest player in France. Blavet was famous for maintaining impeccable intonation, even when he played in difficult keys, and for the beauty of his tone. Voltaire expressed his admiration for his playing and Marpurg spoke of him as a virtuoso of the highest excellence who preserved his innate modesty despite his unbroken popularity.

In 1726 he joined the Duke of Carignan and took part in the newly formed Concert Spirituel for the first time. From 1731 to 1735, he performed at the Concert Spirituel with Jean-Marie Leclair, Jean-Pierre Guignon, Jean-Joseph de Mondonville, Jean-Baptiste Senaillé, and Jacques Aubert. In 1738, Blavet became the principal flute in Louis XV's personal musical ensemble, the "Musique du Roi", and in 1740 at the Paris Opera orchestra.[1] He played in the quartet (flute – Blavet, violin – Guignon, viola da gamba – Forqueray the younger, cello – Édouard) that played the premiere performance of the Paris quartets by Telemann.

Download a sample     
Add to cart
Related Products