Marcello, Benedetto | XII Suonate a flauto solo | Opera seconda (1715)

  • Description
  • More
Original edition restored & augmented by Atelier Philidor.
  • Instrumentation: recorder (treble), basso continuo (cello or harpsichord)
  • Edition | Source: Facsimile (2012, 2022 second restoration) | Estienne Roger, Amsterdam, 1715
  • 2 part-books : recorder & continuo (original edition) - recorder & cello (part reconstructed and added by Atelier Philidor), 84 pages
  • Notation | Clefs: G2, F4, C4, figured bass
  • Text in Italian

The twelve sonatas for flute, Opera II, appeared in Venice in 1712, reappeared in Amsterdam in 1715 and finally in London in 1730. All these sonatas were constructed using the Chiesa sonata (or church sonata) mould, divided into four or even five movements. The first movement is slow and they then alternate between serious episodes and lighter, quicker ones.

Benedetto Marcello followed in the tradition of Corelli, nicknamed the prince of musicians, successfully uniting polyphonic tradition and the new demands for diverse forms of expression. With his genius equal to that of the greatest musicians, he made the decision to just follow his enthusiasm and inspiration born out of his admirable imagination.


  • Sonata I - Adagio, Allegro, Largo, Allegro [in F major]
  • Sonata II - Adagio, Allegro, Largo, Allegro [in c minor]
  • Sonata III - Adagio, Allegro, Adagio, Presto [in g minor]
  • Sonata IV - Adagio, Allegro, Adagio, Allegro [in e minor]
  • Sonata V - Adagio, Allegro, Adagio, Allegro [in C major]
  • Sonata VI - Largo, Allegro, Adagio, A tempo giusto vivace [in G major]
  • Sonata VII - Largo, Allegro, Gavotta Allegro, Minuet
  • Sonata VIII - Adagio, Allegro, Largo, Presto
  • Sonata IX - Adagio, Allegro, Largo, Allegro [in F major]
  • Sonata X - Largo, Allegro, Largo, Allegro, Minuet [in a minor]
  • Sonata XI - Adagio, Presto, Adagio, Presto
  • Sonata XII - Adagio, Minuet Allegro, Gavotta Allegro, Largo, Ciaccona  [in F major]
    Delivery time:Living in Europe? You can order hard copies of the Atelier Philidor facsimiles at the music bookshop: Aux Notes d'Orphée
Add to cart
Related Products