Schmelzer, Johann Heinrich | Sacro-Profanus Concentus Musicus | Sonatas with Tromba (1662)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition restored by Atelier Philidor.

  • Sonatas with trumpets
  • Instrumentation: violins, viola da gamba, cornetto, trumpets, trombones, basso continuo (organ)
  • Edition | Source: Facsimile (2014) | Michael Endertl, Nuremberg, 1662
  • Set of parts, 38 pages | B&W
  • Notation | Clefs: G2 (violins, trumpets, cornetto), C1 (viola, trombone), C3 (viola, trombone), C4 (viola), F4 (viola, trombone, organ)

Johann Heinrich Schmelzer (1623-1680) was one of the most important violinists of the period, and an important influence on later German and Austrian composers for violin. He made substantial contributions to the development of violin technique and promoted the use and development of sonata and suite forms in Austria and South Germany. He was the leading Austrian composer of his generation, and an influence on Heinrich Ignaz Biber.


  • Sonata prima à 8, 2. Violini, 4. Viole, 2. Trombe
  • Sonata duodecima à 7, 2. Cornettini, 3. Tromboni, 2. Trombe
Add to cart